Ramagundam

image

      During the vanavaasa(stay in the forest), Lord Rama, Mother Sita and Lakshman were passing through this place. It was hot and mother Sita became thirsty. She asked Lakshman if he had some water in the pot he had. Lakshman replied with a “NO”.
    
     Then Lord Rama dug out the hill, with his hands, at seven places, one a lil above the other. Water came up in the top most rock pot and flowed downwards. Mother Sita drank the water and fulfilled her thirst. The water was so clear, pure and sweet.

    This isn’t any fiction, But the history beyond the rockpots(gundams) on the hillock at Ramagundam, my home town.The water in them does never dry up nor overflow. If drawn, same amount of water fills back….

    Thanks Sue, for this prompt…made me write about my hometown.
    
     

Author: Sri Sudha K

So many things keep me busy...but I just found a way to store them forever. There is so much of Telugu in here as I just love my mothertongue....

9 thoughts on “Ramagundam”

Leave a comment